How to Get Compensation for Your Car Accident Injuries in Pueblo, Colorado
Colorado is an at-fault state, which means the person responsible for an accident takes financial responsibility on the losses the victims sustain. In a car accident, an injured victim can seek compensation for their medical bills and property damage. The insurance company will pay for the damage or injuries sustained by the other driver and their passengers.
In the state of Colorado, drivers are required by law to report a car accident to the police, especially if injuries are involved. If you were injured in a car accident caused by the negligence of another driver, you must seek an experienced pueblo car accident lawyer to know how to deal with the other party’s insurance company. Your attorney will also assist you with your claim.
Filing an Injury Claim Against the Other Party’s Insurer
If successful, your injury claim would pay for the damages to your car, your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. To obtain compensation from the insurance company, you must give evidence to show that the other driver was negligent and this negligence resulted in your accident and injury. Some pieces of evidence you will need to collect include traffic citations, photos, witness accounts, medical records, and videos. Your attorney can collect this evidence and document your accident scene while you are getting your treatment or recovering from your injury. The insurance company will investigate and determine whether its client was responsible for the accident and whether you contributed to the accident before they give any compensation for the crash.
Filing an Injury Lawsuit at a Small Claims Court
If out-of-court settlement negotiations after a car accident fail to produce a fair outcome for you, you can take your case to a small claims court. But, this is only possible if the amount in dispute is less than $7, 500 and you are at least 18 years old or an emancipated minor. But, keep in mind that a two-year statute of limitations is in place, dictating the amount of time available to seek recovery. And if you intended to bring legal representation, you should file seven days’ notice to the court since lawyers are generally not permitted in small claims court.
To prevail in a small claims court, you need to be present persuasive evidence such as medical treatment records, injury diary, medical imaging study reports, accident scene photos, notes from your treating doctor, witness testimony, photos of your injury, and pay stubs and evidence of work time you missed because of your injury.